Quality matters: Systems Quality & TTCN3

The quality of software-based systems becomes increasingly important as the influence of software in almost every area of economy and society is growing. Today, software is used in safety-, security- and business-critical domains for systems where reliability, robustness, trustworthiness, etc. are essential.

Analytical methods and in particular dynamic testing approaches remain a central and often also exclusive instrument to check the resulting quality of the overall system. For years, experts have been convinced that test design is the central element to successful and meaningful software testing. In the meantime, however, it has become apparent that testing requires all the typical elements of software engineering: tests are software-based systems themselves and need to be engineered, designed, verified, validated, and executed like any other software-based system. Specialities of test systems involve the ability to control, stimulate, observe, and evaluate the system under test. Although standard development and programming techniques are mostly applicable, specific solutions for the development of test systems respecting their peculiarities seem reasonable. This motivated the development and standardisation of specialised test specification and test implementation languages.

Among the original reasons for developing the Tree and Tabular Combined Notation (TTCN) was the precise definition of conformance for protocols of telecommunication components according to their specifications. Test specifications were regarded as means to objectively define test procedures and to evaluate, compare, and certify equipment on a sound and repeatable base. In the spirit of these developments, the automated execution of TTCN became likewise important.

Over the years, TTCN grew in its expressivity and usage. Various pilot projects demonstrated its successful applicability outside the telecommunication area. With the convergence of the information technology and telecommunication industries, the direct applicability of TTCN became also apparent to people without a background in the telecommunication domain. These trends and the characteristics of more recent IT and telecommunication technologies imposed new requirements on TTCN itself. The development of a new version of TTCN – TTCN-3, now standing for Testing and Test Control Notation version 3 – is the result of these new requirements.

TTCN-3 has been developed by a group of testing experts at the European Telecommunication Standards Institute (ETSI). Launched in September 2000 as a new standardised test technology, it is since then continuously maintained and improved along the needs of its user community.

Fraunhofer FOKUS is main contributor to TTCN-3 and is responsible for various elements of the language definition including part 1 (concepts and core language), part 5 (runtime interfaces) and part 6 (test control interfaces).

You may find a compact overview of the TTCN-3 language elements in the TTCN-3 Quick reference card.

Print Friendly

Ein Schlüssel zur Systemqualität: TTCN-3

Die Qualität von softwarebasierten Systemen wird immer wichtiger, denn ihr Einfluss wächst in fast allen Bereichen der Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Software wird heute zunehmend in sicherheits- und geschäftskritischen Bereichen eingesetzt, in denen ihre Zuverlässigkeit und Robustheit unerlässlich ist.

Analytische Methoden und insbesondere dynamische Prüfungsansätze bleiben dabei ein zentrales und oft auch exklusives Instrument, um die Qualität gesamter Systeme zu überprüfen. Software-Tests benötigen dabei alle typischen Elemente der Softwareentwicklung, denn Tests sind selbst softwarebasierte Systeme und müssen deshalb genauso entwickelt, konstruiert, geprüft, validiert und ausgeführt werden. Testsysteme besitzen darüber hinaus die Fähigkeit zu kontrollieren, zu stimulieren, zu beobachten und das System unter Test zu bewerten. Obwohl Standardentwicklung und Programmierungstechniken meist auch für Tests anwendbar sind, sind spezifische Lösungen für die Entwicklung eines Testsystems wichtig, um auf dessen Besonderheiten Rücksicht nehmen zu können. Dieser Ansatz trieb die Entwicklung und Standardisierung von spezialisierten Testspezikfikations- und Testimplementierungssprachen voran.

Einer der ursprünglichen Gründe für die Entwicklung der Tree and Tabular Combined Notation (TTCN) war die präzise Konformitätsdefinition für Protokolle von Telekommunikations-Komponenten gemäß ihrer Spezifikationen. Testspezifikationen wurden eingesetzt, um Testprozeduren objektiv zu definieren und das Equipment auf regelmäßiger Basis zu bewerten, zu vergleichen und zu zertifizieren. So wurde die automatisierte Ausführung auch für TTCN überaus wichtig.

Über die Jahre wuchs die Bedeutung von TTCN und verschiedene Pilotprojekte demonstrierten eine erfolgreiche Anwendbarkeit außerhalb der Telekommunikation. Mit der Annäherung der Telekommunikations- und der Informationstechnologiebranche wurde die direkte Anwendbarkeit von TTCN auch für Entwickler aus anderen Branchen sichtbar. Diese Trends sowie die Charakteristika jüngerer IT- und Telekommunikationstechnologien stellten auch neue Anforderungen an TTCN: Ergebnis ist TTCN-3 (Testing and Test Control Notation Version 3).

TTCN-3 ist eine standardisierte und moderne Testspezifikations- und Testimplementierungssprache, die vom European Telecommunication Standards Insitute (ETSI) entwickelt wurde. Fraunhofer FOKUS war maßgeblich an der Entwicklung von TTCN-3 beteiligt und ist verantwortlich für verschiedene Elemente der Sprachdefinition, inklusive Part 1 (Konzepte und Kernsprachen), Part 5 (Laufzeit-Schnittstellen) und Teil 6 (Testkontroll-Schnittstellen). Mit  Hilfe von TTCN-3 können Tests textuell oder grafisch entwickelt und automatisiert zur Ausführung gebracht werden. Im Gegensatz zu vielen (Test-)Modellierungssprachen umfasst TTCN-3 nicht nur eine Sprache für die Spezifikation von Tests, sondern ebenso eine Architektur und Ausführungsschnittstellen für TTCN-3 basierte Testsysteme.

Eine kompakte Zusammenfassung der TTCN-3 Sprachelemente finden Sie in der TTCN-3 Quick Reference Card.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email